Beauty & Style · Lifestyle · Motivation

Four Life Lessons I Learned from my Makeup Training

dsc04477I recently had a little extra time on my hands and decided to learn professional makeup. I didn’t want to procrastinate learning any longer than I already had, so I enrolled for the training as soon as I found a suitable makeup school for me. It was as much fun as it was hard work. And now I serve you the four life lessons – yes, I do mean life lessons – I learned from it. Makeup? Really? I know, right? Well, I learned some very important lessons and I’m about to share them with you. Get motivated, folks!!!

Stop making excuses

Excuses are tools of the incompetent which create monuments of nothingness. Those who use them are seldom good in anything – Unknown

Before I started the training, I thought of different reasons why I shouldn’t do it and when I finally started, I gave numerous excuses not to finish. What if I’m not good at it? Oh, I’ll never get it right! I can’t do it! Everyone’s better than I am! It’s tiring! The excuses were endless. Even when the instructor asked me to practice something she had just taught in class, I was sure to give an excuse not to. It wasn’t until I stopped giving excuses that I realized they were getting in my way of actually learning something. My point is, you’ll never get anything done by sitting on your hands and giving excuses. At least make an attempt to do it, and remember that failure doesn’t mean you’re no good, it only means that you have to put in more effort.

Be inspired by others

Our chief want is someone who will inspire us to be what we know we could beRalph Waldo Emerson (Essayist, lecturer & poet)

While I struggled to get just one of the different eyebrow shapes on paper, some in my class were already drawing perfect eyebrow arches on their faces. These were the people who made practice sessions look like tea parties. I began to feel intimidated by them and often caught myself envying them. Then it dawned on me that the intimidation and envy weren’t only unhealthy for me but were drawbacks. I decided to learn from these people instead and be inspired by them. It helped. I learnt new techniques which were not taught in class. The thing is, you’ll probably always meet people who are better than you, so rather than waste your time envying them or being intimidated by them, you should learn from them. Sometimes, all we need is a little push from others even when we know we can do it.

Be different

Being different is a revolving door in your life where secure people enter and insecure exitShannon L. Alder (Author)

It’s easy to follow the crowd or do what everyone else is doing. But the fact that everyone is doing it doesn’t make it right. Besides, a method that works perfectly for others might not work for you. So, while it makes sense to imitate or learn from people who inspire us, we should be careful not to copy people blindly or constantly compare ourselves to others. If you’ve been doing something a certain way and it isn’t working for you, shouldn’t you try a different approach? It’s also a good idea to create your own style or carve your own niche. Like Margaret Thatcher once said, instead of following the crowd, let the crowd follow you. When I realized that I couldn’t get something right with the same approach that everyone was using, I decided to do things differently. Of course, that meant having people raise their eyebrows at me or think me weird. I didn’t mind as long as I achieved my goal.

Nothing is easy. Nothing worth having, that is

When something comes easy, you usually let it go the same wayNora Roberts (Author)

Makeup was more hard work than I ever imagined. I spent hours with my head bent over sheets of paper trying to get the eyebrow shapes for various face shapes right before I could even attempt practicing on anyone’s face. Then I had to learn to measure the distance between the eyebrows and the eyes. Whew! Plus, the whole highlighting and contouring thing felt like something from another planet. I remember thinking it was too much hard work for makeup and wanted to quit. But then I promptly reminded myself that I had to work for it if it was worth having. My point is, if you want something that means a lot to you, you can’t just sprawl there and expect it to drop in your lap. If you want to lose weight, you have to eat healthy and exercise; if you want to pass a test, exam or an interview, you have to prepare for it; if you want a great marriage, you have to make an effort to communicate effectively and be tolerant of your spouse’s shortcomings. Nothing worth having is easy.

That’s it, folks. I’ll leave you with one last quote that I stumbled upon recently.

Everyone can rise above their circumstances and achieve success if they are dedicated to and passionate about what they doNelson Mandela

P.S. Share some of the lessons you’ve learned from the most unlikely places in the comments. I’ll love to read about them.

Photo Credit: Titilayo Olurin.

5 thoughts on “Four Life Lessons I Learned from my Makeup Training

  1. Being inspired by others isn’t just enough but adding a touch to the inspiration to create a niche perculiar to me matters most.

    A good piece you have here… just got me fired up again✅💯✔

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I learnt a lot about being inspired by others recently. I attended an interview in this company where the founder and cofounders graduated from college after me. . . At first it was hard not to be intimidated, I mean these guys were young! . . . Rather than let my intimidation get the better of me, I let myself be inspired. If I didnt get the job, I told myself, then it was time to start considering entrepreneurship! I can “found” something too! Lols

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

